Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, UAE Elected To UN Safety Council For 2022-23 Time period

Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, UAE Elected To UN Security Council For 2022-23 Term

Yearly, 5 nations are elected to the 15-member Council as non-permanent members for a 2-year time period.

United Nations:

Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates have been elected unopposed to the highly effective UN Safety Council on Friday as non-permanent members for the 2022-23 time period.

The 193-member UN Common Meeting held elections to elect 5 non-permanent members who will take their seats on the 15-nation Council for a two-year time period starting January 1, 2022.

All of the 5 nations received the elections unopposed as they have been the one candidates from their respective regional teams vying for the allotted seats on the Council.

As per regional distribution for the 2021 election, three seats have been obtainable from the African and Asian States that went to Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates, one Latin American and Caribbean Group seat to which Brazil was elected and the Japanese European Group seat that went to Albania.

Ghana obtained 185 votes out of the legitimate 190 ballots, Gabon 183 and the United Arab Emirates 179.

Albania bought 175 votes out of the 189 legitimate ballots with 14 abstentions, whereas Brazil garnered 181 votes of the full 190 legitimate ballots with eight abstentions.

Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam will full their two-year phrases on the Council this 12 months and the 5 newly elected members will sit on the horse-shoe desk together with 5 everlasting members China, France, Russia, the UK and the US in addition to the 5 non-permanent members India, Eire, Kenya, Mexico and Norway, whose phrases on the Council will finish December 31, 2022. India will assume the rotating Presidency of the Safety Council in August.

India’s Everlasting Consultant to the UN, Ambassador TS Tirumurti tweeted: “Congrats to all 5 newly elected members to the UN Safety Council. India appears to be like ahead to working intently with you all.”

The election for the non-permanent members of the Safety Council is held by secret poll and candidates require a two-thirds majority within the Common Meeting to be elected.

Yearly, 5 nations are elected to the 15-member Council as non-permanent members for a two-year time period, in line with a geographical rotation set by the Common Meeting in 1963, to make sure honest regional illustration: 5 from African and Asian and Pacific States; one from Japanese Europe; two from Latin American States; and two from Western European and Different States (WEOG).

(Apart from the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is printed from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Tags: brazil, UAE, UN Security Council (UNSC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *